To be like little children

Reading: Matthew 18:1-4

And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” – Matthew 18:3-4

To enter the kingdom of heaven, we need to become like little children.  And to be the greatest in the kingdom of heaven, we need to humble ourselves the way children do.

Lord Jesus, thank you for taking away my guilt; thank you for restoring my innocence.  I pray that I would always fully depend on God with a child-like faith.  May I always be ready to repent and ask for forgiveness every time I hurt you or any of my fellowmen/women.  And may I always be reminded that whatever I have acquired and accomplished during my lifetime were not of my own making, but through your enabling grace.

IMG_4903

The Pilgrim’s Progress in Pictures.  Odhams Press Limited, Long Acre, London.

6 thoughts on “To be like little children

  1. Pingback: Guardian angels?? | My Bible Reading, Listening and Living

  2. Interesting. I had a discussion with my husband about this same exact thing yesterday during lunchtime about how God and the world operates. To get into God’s kingdom, we must become like “children” and to get ahead in the world, we must “man up”. Such polar opposites.

    Liked by 1 person

💡 Share your thoughts 💬