New treasures as well as old

Reading: Matthew 13:51-52

“Have you understood all these things?” Jesus asked.
“Yes,” they replied.
He said to them, “Therefore every teacher of the law who has been instructed about the kingdom of heaven is like the owner of a house who brings out of his storeroom new treasures as well as old.”

I have always believed in the Old Testament, and as there was no New Testament yet during Jesus’ time He would have only been quoting and expounding from the OT.  I have never subscribed to the idea that the OT was nullified after Jesus came to earth.  But when I read the verses above, I thought—“Did God miss something out during the OT?”  Reading through the Prophets, I can see many references to a millennial kingdom—so what’s new about the kingdom of God?

At one point I would have been like Jesus’ disciples who, after He arose from the dead, still asked: “Lord, will you at this time going to restore the kingdom to Israel?”  This was after Jesus had been preaching about the kingdom of God for three years!

So, what’s new is that Jesus came to explain things to us:

  • The LORD your God will raise up for you a prophet like me from among your own brothers. You must listen to him.  For this is what you asked of the LORD your God at Horeb on the day of the assembly when you said, “Let us not hear the voice of the LORD our God nor see this great fire any more, or we will die.”  The LORD said to me: “What they say is good.  I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers; I will put my words in his mouth, and he will tell them everything I command him.” – Deuteronomy 18:15-18
  • “But blessed are your eyes because they see, and your ears because they hear. For I tell you the truth, many prophets and righteous men longed to see what you see but did not see it, and to hear what you hear but did not hear it.” – Matthew 13:16-17
  • They asked each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road and opened the Scriptures to us?” – Luke 24:32

And when Jesus ascended to heaven, He sent us the Holy Spirit to remind us of His teachings—“All this I have spoken while still with you.  But the Counsellor, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you” (John 14:25-26).  Needless to say, I am also very grateful to the early disciples and apostles who, with divine inspiration wrote the gospels and their epistles so that I could understand better God’s Word.

“… The kingdom of God is within you” (Luke 17:21).  It is in our midst.  This verse was a turning point for me.  It is not only hope for the future, but confidence in the present.  Our God is omnipresent, omnipotent and omniscient—I am already in His kingdom, and His kingdom is in me—what have I got to fear?

There are still many things in the Scriptures that I do not understand, but I trust that He will continue to reveal His Word to me, in His time.

“Go your way, Daniel, because the words are closed up and sealed until the time of the end.  Many will be purified, made spotless and refined, but the wicked will continue to be wicked.  None of the wicked will understand, but those who are wise will understand” (Daniel 12:9-10).

“Now to him who is able to establish you by my gospel and the proclamation of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery hidden for long ages past, but now revealed and made known through the prophetic writings by the command of the eternal God, so that all nations might believe and obey him—to the only wise God be glory for ever through Jesus Christ!  Amen” (Romans 16:25-57).

“Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know” (Jeremiah 33:3).

The Lord bless you, my brothers and sisters.

6 thoughts on “New treasures as well as old

  1. It is pretty amazing and humbling, isn’t it, to realize that we His people quite literally ARE His Kingdom – at least for the time being. I truly look forward to the day that He establishes His earthly Kingdom and sits on His well-deserved throne, but in the meantime, may our hearts enthrone Him and may His will be done (through us) on earth in the same way that it is done in Heaven!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ❤ ❤ ❤ Understanding the present existence of the Kingdom was a turning point for John and me, too! It helped us to grasp that Yeshua is our KING and that we are citizens of His NATION. That prepared our hearts to understand, a year or so later, that Torah is still His ‘operating system’ for His Present Kingdom, just as the Word tells us that it will be the One Instruction for the Eternal Kingdom. Just yesterday we were reading Psalm 103 and we were fascinated to realize that even the angels in Heaven follow the commands of Torah! “The LORD hath prepared his throne in the heavens; and his kingdom ruleth over ALL. Bless the LORD, ye his angels, that excel in strength, that DO his commandments, hearkening unto the voice of his word.” (Ps 103:19-20) His Kingdom is now and it is beautiful!! Thanks so much for your excellent article.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dear Sue, it took me a long time understanding what the kingdom of God was. I remember myself flipping through the gospels–searching for Jesus’ teachings–but most of them were just narratives about His ministry. And I kept asking, Jesus kept mentioning the kingdom of God–what is it all about???!!! I was just one of those in the crowd–“ever hearing but not understanding, ever seeing but never perceiving”. Until I got to that verse: “the kingdom of God is within you”. A light suddenly switched on! God is merciful!

      I remember something you wrote in your blog a long time ago–about our national laws being mostly based on biblical commandments anyway, so I think, yes–good to check the original (as current laws keep changing in response to many different advocacy groups)! His yoke is easy and His burden is light.

      Thank you for sharing the verses in Psalms and what you’re learning over time. You bless me. ❤ The Lord bless you! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

