Treasures

IMG_3697

Reading: Matthew 13:44-46

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field.  When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.”

Lord, please remind me every day of the value of your kingdom; that everything else pales in comparison to the abundant life that You have planned for me.

“Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls.  When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”

Thank you, God because you made me in your likeness.  When you beheld everything that You made, You saw that they were very good.  Thank you, Father that when doubt and distrust and selfish desires entered my heart, You sent your Son to take my place of punishment.  Thank you, Jesus for redeeming me with your life.  Thank you for restoring me.

IMG_3699

2 thoughts on “Treasures

  1. I’ve always seen these verses as us needing to value God’s Kingdom so highly that we are willing to sacrifice anything to achieve that. Now I see that God sees us as a fine pearl, that he sacrificed his son to purchase. That’s amazing! Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, sister for dropping by. When I started thinking about this post, I checked the commentary on my Bible–and was pointed to the fact that the analogy to the kingdom of heaven in v.45 is the merchant looking for fine pearls–not the pearl itself! I couldn’t get my head around it at first, as I’ve always subscribed to the idea of man’s worthlessness. But the Lord reminded me of His word in Genesis, how He created us in His image; and His desire and plan to restore us.

      The Lord bless you, sister. May He carry you from strength to strength.

      Liked by 1 person

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

