Justice to the nations

Reading: Matthew 12: 15-21

Why did Jesus have to die for me? Did He really have to do that? Why couldn’t He have just forgiven me, sent the devil to hell and spared Himself of death? He is, after all, God, and can do anything He wants.

Then it hit me. A few years ago, in one of the Christianity Explored sessions, I was watching this video wherein the camera zoomed in on the cross at the top of St. Paul’s Cathedral—and then panning across, the statue of Lady Justice at the top of the Old Bailey. My God is a loving God, yes He is, but He is also a God of justice. My sins cannot be simply shrugged off, regardless of how seemingly small or big they are—they are just the same. It has a cost, Someone has to pay the price. That is justice. It should have been me to pay the price, but Someone took my place. Forgiveness was bestowed on me at the cost of Someone’s precious blood. And not only for me–forgiveness is also offered to you, to the whole world, so that those who accept the Lord’s substitution will obtain redemption, and everlasting life.

“Here is my servant whom I have chosen,
the one I love, in whom I delight;
I will put my Spirit on him,
and he will proclaim justice to the nations.
He will not quarrel or cry out;
no-one will hear his voice in the streets.
A bruised reed he will not break,
and a smouldering wick he will not snuff out,
till he leads justice to victory.
In his name the nations will put their hope.” – Matthew 12:18-21 (NIV)

My friend, while the invitation is open, accept His offer of forgiveness now, and start to live your life for Him. One day the Lord will come back to administer His final judgment. Woe to those who have chosen to pay the price themselves!

IMG_2835

2 thoughts on “Justice to the nations

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

