A cup of cold water to refresh

a cup of water
Reading: Matthew 10:40-42

“He who receives you receives me, and he who receives me receives the one who sent me” (v.40).

I sometimes find myself nostalgic of those childhood days when people would come in and out of our house, staying with us for just a few hours or several days. Church workers, visiting ministers and their families, but most especially the missionaries serving tribal groups from far-away mountains! I loved the buzz of activities, the strange stories told, and the “indoor camping” as mats were laid on the bedroom and living room floors to accommodate as many as possible.

For us children it was a welcome break from the humdrum of long summer days, but now I realise that for our parents, notwithstanding the excitement of catching up with God’s family, there would have been some tasks involved. I wouldn’t say it was much of an effort though—it was our way of life having come from a collective, open and generous culture. To be not hospitable is not the norm. So I was quite surprised when I came across this verse again:

“And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward” (v.42).

My friend, the Lord is so lovingly attentive! Those little acts of kindness that you think do not matter do matter to Him! Those will all be revealed in the last days, and we will fully realise that we are only able to be generous because we have a Father who is extremely generous—he makes the sun shine on both the evil and the good, he provides for us and blesses us his children, and he rewards us even for the little things we’ve done!

Father, thank you for the generosity of sending us your Son.  Jesus, thank you for the generosity of sacrificing your life for us; thank you for the generosity of sending us your Spirit.  May my life speak of you, Lord Jesus.  Help me to refresh your disciples; and may I introduce the Living Water to those who are thirsting within their souls.

2 thoughts on “A cup of cold water to refresh

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

