Modern persecution

cross_earthlytraveler_wordpress

Reading: Matthew 10:11-42

“What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs.” – Matthew 10:27

I was reading the local news online a few weeks ago and in the Comments section expressed my thoughts about the difference between biological make-up and gender roles (nothing much really except for the technical definitions we used to give in our gender and development trainings). I got one reply, but a “mouthful” already, with plenty of thumbs up against my one. Amusing, I thought, but this was definitely someone full of emotions leaning towards irrational accusations and reasoning which did not really invalidate what I said, but just insisted on what he believed—backed by practices in some exotic cultures and scientific studies that really held no ground. I choose my battles, so I let it go, thinking that this is someone who needed more grace (and prayer) instead than a reply.

I came across this reading today: “All men will hate you because of me, but he who stands firm to the end will be saved” (Matthew 10:22). Growing up I was wondering how in my time and place will this be possible where the persecution of Christians was not a reality. But now I see the form it takes in the most developed world, even among the places where Christianity has taken its early root. A Christian and a democratic country, but a place where you cannot even talk about God at the workplace (not even wear your necklace with a cross pendant), or invite officemates to church, or announce you are starting a Bible study group to meet once a week during lunch hour for anybody willing to join.

In the eyes of the world we are fools, but may we be counted worthy at the end—through the blood of the Lamb that washed us of our sins so that we may be clothed with His righteousness.

All things will pass away. Everything we hold onto in this world will vanish like a mist. Be firm.

“Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell.” – Matthew 10:28

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny?  Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father….  So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” – Matthew 10:29,31

7 thoughts on “Modern persecution

    • Dear Carl,

      Thanks for dropping by. I am also sometimes beset with fear and other negative emotions. But I thank the Lord that I do not berate myself so much anymore–I now just take it as a reminder of how much I need the Lord, his mercy, his grace.

      Have a blessed day, brother.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. In our modern society, words are now being seen as actionable in themselves. So, much for freedom of speech. The words that the modern world accepts are darkness, and they
    reject the light. I guess not much has changed. “the light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil.” (John 3:19)

    Liked by 1 person

    • We can only pray that the people in darkness will realise the precarious position they are in. For us, we can take comfort in the fact that no one can snatch us out of Jesus’ and the Father’s hands. Blessings to you, brother.

      Like

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

