Double time

doubletime_earthlytraveler@wordpress

Reading: Matthew 9:9-13

“Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?” – Matthew 9:11

When did I last make a friend?

When did I last smile at or initiate a friendly chat with a stranger?

When did I last give a helping hand to someone I didn’t know?

Or give money or food to a beggar or a homeless person—regardless if they were “deserving” or not?

Or invite someone to come to church with me, or join me for a meal at home as a gesture of kindness?

time_earthlytraveler@wordpress

When did I last go beyond the radius of my comfort zone to reach out to someone who, for all I know, may be yearning for human contact and an acknowledgment of their existence; and needing to hear the love of God and the hope that we have in Him!

Lord, fill me with your Holy Spirit; empower me to advance your kingdom. running out of time_earthlytraveler@wordpress

Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” – Matthew 9:35-38 (NIV)

2 thoughts on “Double time

  1. We are supposed to be His love letters to a hurting world – I’m afraid my ‘letter’ gets pretty mangled, but will keep trying, “Being confident of this very thing, that He which hath begun a good work in [me] will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ!” (Phil 1:6)

    Liked by 1 person

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

