Heal our land

sheep in pasture_munyingnying@earthlytraveler

Reading: Matthew 8:28-34

“… The whole town went out to meet Jesus. And when they saw him, they pleaded with him to leave their region” (v.34).

We know that as individuals we have the choice whether to accept or reject the Lord. As a group, it only takes 2 or 3 of us to gather in His name. The story in this reading tells us about a collective agreement to shut the Lord out of their lives, to shun Him from their community. The people didn’t see the Lord Jesus fitting to the economic viability of their livelihoods.

I always intercede for myself, for my immediate family, for my relatives, friends, colleagues, and other people I come in contact with. But when did I last pray for my community, for my nation, for the people in governance? Do I pray that the leaders of my country be touched by God’s love, that it would result to their drafting and enforcement of godly policies, that their plans and programmes would align to what the Good Shepherd would have in His kingdom? Do I pray for the leaders of the community church, that they would turn back to their Bibles, and not support the questionable morals that the state puts into law?

Many nations have already been purged out of this planet. Will the nation I belong to survive it to the last days? Will it be there among the nations who would praise and glorify the Lord for the wonderful things that He has done and for who He is? Lord, I ask for your mercy and favour! May I put on the full armour of God, and together with your children, and your Spirit, defeat the enemy!

“… Do you know why I have come to you? Soon I will return to fight against the prince of Persia, and when I go, the prince of Greece will come; but first I will tell you what is written in the Book of Truth….” – Daniel 10:20-21 (NIV)

The Lord has the best plan for each of us. And He also has in mind our collective good.

“… You have been concerned about this vine, though you did not tend it or make it grow…. But Nineveh has more than a hundred and twenty thousand people who cannot tell their right hand from their left, and many cattle as well. Should I not be concerned about that great city?” – Jonah 4:10-11 (NIV)

Lord, help me remove the blinkers from my eyes so that I will have a broader vision of your will.

“He seized the dragon, that ancient serpent, who is the devil, or Satan, and bound him for a thousand years. He threw him into the Abyss, and locked and sealed it over him, to keep him from deceiving the nations any more until the thousand years were ended….” – Revelation 20: 2-3 (NIV)

“On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding its fruit every month. And the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.” – Revelation 22:2 (NIV)

“Praise awaits you, our God, in Zion;
to you our vows will be fulfilled.
You who answer prayer,
to you all people will come.
When we were overwhelmed by sins,
you forgave our transgressions.

The whole earth is filled with awe at your wonders;
where morning dawns, where evening fades,
you call forth songs of joy.” – Psalm 65:1-3;8 (NIV)

Intercession guide

Intercession guide

3 thoughts on “Heal our land

  1. Thank you for such a kind and godly reminder that I need to be praying for my political leaders – even when they irritate the tar out of me! This was part of the message of the parasha (Torah reading) for this week, too – two witnesses! Thank you, sister.

    Liked by 2 people

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

