No place of his own

bird nest_munyingnying@earthlytraveler

Reading: Matthew 8:18-22

“… Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head” (v.20).

Reading this as a child, I thought it was unfair to express a desire to follow Jesus, and then be discouraged! But now it comes clear to me that Jesus wants us to search our hearts and confront our intentions—we cannot be half-hearted, we cannot be lukewarm, we cannot serve two masters (Matthew 22:37-38; Revelation 3:15-17; Matthew 6:24).

At Jesus’ call, Peter and Andrew immediately left their fishing nets. James and John immediately left family and livelihood. And Matthew got up right away from his tax collector’s booth to follow Jesus. So did Philip and Nathanael. To the four fishermen, the Lord showed his omnipotence by providing them with catch so heavy their nets began to break and their boats to sink. To Philip, the Lord showed that He is omniscient and omnipresent. There may be times when we want to be given signs and wonders first, but the little everyday miracles should be more than enough to assure us that there is a God who cares for and watches over us. How can he not take care of us—his workers? More so, that we are His children?

What is it that is holding us back? Are we, like the rich, young man afraid to lose our worldly assets? Will we be breaking traditions and culture if we follow the Lord? Is affirmation from man more important than affirmation from God?

My prayer is that I will look at the 80-year old lifespan as a very, very short time. I may not even live to be 80. Lord, may I use this short time that you’ve given me to do your will, as after this comes eternity. May I be found to be a good and faithful servant!

I Have Decided to Follow Jesus
(attr. To S. Sundar Singh)

I have decided to follow Jesus;
I have decided to follow Jesus;
I have decided to follow Jesus;
No turning back, no turning back.

Though I may wonder, I still will follow;
Though I may wonder, I still will follow;
Though I may wonder, I still will follow;
No turning back, no turning back.

The world behind me, the cross before me;
The world behind me, the cross before me;
The world behind me, the cross before me;
No turning back, no turning back.

Though none go with me, still I will follow;
Though none go with me, still I will follow;
Though none go with me, still I will follow;
No turning back, no turning back.

Will you decide now to follow Jesus?
Will you decide now to follow Jesus?
Will you decide now to follow Jesus?
No turning back, no turning back.

8 thoughts on “No place of his own

  1. AMEN!!! Thank you for a wonderful article and much-needed challenge. I am reminded of the Master’s statement, “I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.” (Rev 3:15-16)

    His parables stressed that HIS people will gladly pay any price for Truth, (Matt 13:45-46, etc) and that they will do their best to use what He has entrusted to them to build His Kingdom (Matt 25:14-29). Kinda scary that for those who just ‘sit’ on their ‘talents’, the Master instructs His angels to “cast ye the unprofitable servant into outer darkness: there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.” (Matt 25:30)

    The fact is, we have been given a gift of immeasurable value, and our gratitude should be immeasurable in return. I am still learning to discipline my flesh and to “Seek FIRST the Kingdom of God” rather than my own interests. Not easy, but SO IMPORTANT!! You are right – we have little time. We must use it wisely and productively. Thank you again for reminding me and encouraging me. Blessings and shalom!

    Like

    • Thank you, Sue. I think I wrote the article to challenge myself really—‘need to always remind myself how God has been faithful to me in the past (and still is). I am happy that you have been encouraged as well.

      Thank you for reminding me of the parables of the hidden treasure and the pearl. May it be as you said—that we use all that we are and all that we have to build and advance His Kingdom, in gratitude for what He has done for us, and for who He is.

      I have bookmarked many of your articles in my Favourites bar—I will go through them one by one.😊 I have to say you shake the earth beneath me, but in retrospect it has actually helped me understand some Scripture passages I find difficult to comprehend (even those beyond you discussed). This morning I came across Romans 3:2—and felt so blessed to be taught by you. Oh, the Lord bless you, Sue! The Lord bless your household, your people, your nation!♥

      Like

      • Wow, you really humble me, munyingnying 🙂 – Thank you so much for those encouraging words! I understand when you say that some of the concepts “shake the earth beneath” you – my husband and I had the same experience when WE were showed those concepts! It literally shocked us to realize that many ‘doctrines’ we had accepted as Truth were actually based on centuries of tradition rather than on scriptural Truth. But then, that’s one of the reasons Y’shua came the first time – people had lost sight of God’s Truth in His day, too.

        We cherish and appreciate people like you who are genuinely seeking His ways with the intent of living them out in their lives. His promise to such people is “The secret [Heb סוֹד – intimate counsel] of YHVH is with them that fear him; and he will shew them his covenant.” (Psalm 25:14) I’m so grateful to have ‘found’ you! May His richest blessings be yours, sister!

        Like

💡 Share your thoughts 💬

